1 Utama (Baby room)

star star star star starblank

It isn’t the easiest to find unless you know exactly where to go (which I did, because I consulted another blog first). I used the baby room on the second floor in The Oval (new wing), around the corner from the Ambank ATM in the same row as S&J gift shop. Look out for the signs with a baby icon, not a diaper changing icon.

29144045286_088b17690c_k

It’s a spacious and clean room; with three diaper changing stations, a waiting area with sofa and television, and an area at the back for nursing mothers only. Personally, I still think that it’s fine to have fathers in the nursing area together with the mothers, because they can be very helpful in burping or holding the baby while the mother gets her stuff (read: bra and clothes) back in order.

The room as a whole may be spacious, but the nursing cubicles themselves are small, and the corridor to them is narrow. I could just barely navigate my stroller into the room. It was a bit of a struggle, but at least it fit.

28555610124_7f38b5aecd_k

Another reason I didn’t really like the cubicles so tightly packed together is that it’s distracting for the nursing child if people in the other cubicles are noisy.

I only have one child, so I can’t say if having a television in the waiting area is a great idea, but in my opinion, I’d rather have a peaceful area to focus on my child.

The baby room is heavily sponsored by Drypers, as witnessed by the posters everywhere. It was a little disconcerting to be honest. Together with the television and the Drypers ads, I felt a little chaotic in there.

29099257091_c04968be01_k

Overall, though, the most important points are there; it’s clean, spacious, there are enough cubicles for everyone, and all the facilities you really need are present.

One thought on “1 Utama (Baby room)”

Leave a Reply

